Members

Back end notes:

There is to be an H2 header at the bottom for alumni once there are some alumni to put there.

PrIMe Members Page

Current

Marie Andresen

Andresen, Marie

Undergraduate Honors Student

Research: Marie’s honors thesis project involves using recombinant enzymes and liver microsomes to identify the cytochrome P450 enzymes that metabolize propofol in dogs.

marie.andresen@wsu.edu

Judy Arneson

Arneson, Judy

Program Assistant

Role: Provides administrative support and coordination for the MDR1 genotyping service; public liaison.

Neal Burke

Burke, Neal

Research Tech Supervisor

Role: Neal serves as the supervisor of the Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory and works closely with Dr. Mealey on all research projects in the laboratory.

nburke@vetmed.wsu.edu

Rebecca Connors

Connors, Becky

Veterinary Technician

Role: Coordinates all aspects of the College of Veterinary Medicine’s DNA Bank.

Ana Costa

Costa, Ana

PhD Graduate Student

Research: Ana is exploring drug-protein binding interactions and their effects on drug disposition in dogs.

Ana.costa@wsu.edu

Tom Jukier

Jukier, Tom

Masters Graduate Student

Research: Tom is determining the effect of the ABC transporter ABCG2, which is expressed at the blood brain barrier, on antiepileptic drugs used in dogs and cats.

Tom.jukier@wsu.edu

Stephanie Martinez

Martinez, Stephanie

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Research: Stephanie is determining the effect of newly discovered genetic polymorphisms in the canine P450 oxidoreducatase gene on drug metabolism in dogs using recombinant enzyme expression techniques.

smartinez@vetmed.wsu.edu

Alice Morassi

Morassi, Alice

Masters Graduate Student

Research: Alice is exploring drug-protein binding interactions and their effects on drug disposition in dogs and cats

alicemorassi@vetmed.wsu.edu

Ioannis Papageorgiou

Papageorgiou, Ioannis (John)

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Research: John is exploring the genetic mechanisms underlying variable drug metabolism, focusing on the regulation of the human UGT1A glucuronidation enzymes by microRNAs.

johnp@vetmed.wsu.edu

Tania Perez Jimenez

Perez, Tania

PhD Graduate Student

Research: Tania’s PhD thesis work aims to enhance the effectiveness of tramadol for treating pain in dogs through genotype-guided individualization of therapy and by coadministration of drugs that can increase analgesic metabolite concentrations.  

Sol Rivera Velez

Rivera Vélez, Sol

Postdoctoral Research Associate, VCS

Research: Sol’s current research interests include the development and/or improvement of analytical techniques for the detection of different compounds in biological matrices, mass spectrometry, methods for determining albumin glycation and the study of compounds with anti-glycation activity.

rivera@vetmed.wsu.edu

Rance Sellon

Sellon, Rance

Associate Professor, VCS

Research: Investigating potential mechanisms underlying glucocorticoid resistance and sensitivity in dogs.

rsellon@vetmed.wsu.edu

Jennifer Slovak

Slovak, Jennifer

Assistant Professor, VCS

Research: Jennifer is interested in improving the diagnosis and treatment of immune mediated and inflammatory conditions of the dog and cat with special interest in the gastrointestinal system

jeslovak@vetmed.wsu.edu

Zhaohui Zhu

Zhu, Zhaohui

Research Technologist 3

Role: Zhaohui is the manager of the Court laboratory and works closely with Dr Court on several projects involving genotyping of the WSU DNA bank samples.

zhaohuizhu@vetmed.wsu.edu